Colleges & Universities

Utah's eight public colleges and universities offer programs and degrees to meet any student's needs and interests.

4-Year Institutions

Research Universities

The University of Utah (UofU) is Utah’s flagship research university. Utah State University (USU) also performs extensive research as the state’s land-grant university.

Regional Universities

Institutions such as Weber State University (WSU), Dixie State University (DSU), and Utah Valley University(UVU) perform both a community college and a four-year college function primarily in the region in which they are located. Some schools even offer master's degrees. Southern Utah University (SUU) is Utah’s designated liberal arts and sciences university and offers certificates, bachelors and master’s degrees.

2-Year Institutions

Community Colleges

Primarily two-year public institutions that grant certificates, diplomas, and associate’s degrees. Certain four-year institutions also provide community college services across the state.